14-day quarantine now for returnees from 40 countries

01-May-2021 Intellasia | Freemalaysiatoday | 5:02 AM Print This Post

Travellers from 40 countries will have to undergo a mandatory 14-day quarantine after concerns about the spread of three Covid-19 variants.

Last Saturday, senior minister for security Ismail Sabri Yaakob said Putrajaya decided to increase the quarantine period for travellers who enter Malaysia from the UK, South Africa, Brazil and Japan from 10 days to 14 days after the South African variant of the Covid-19 virus was detected in those countries.

In a statement today, health director-general Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said 36 other countries had been added to the list after fears about the two other variants from the UK and Brazil.

In Europe, the countries added to the list are Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Germany, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, France, Czech Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkey.

In the Americas, the countries are the US, Argentina, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru.

The countries in Asia include Bangladesh, India, Cambodia, China and the Philippines while those in the Middle East are the United Arab Emirates, Iraq, Israel and Qatar.

In Africa, the countries are Rwanda, Mozambique, Nigeria and Tanzania.



Category: Malaysia

Print This Post

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.