EU opens borders to Korean travellers

02-Jul-2020 Intellasia | KoreaTimes | 6:02 AM Print This Post

The European Union (EU) has reopened its borders to travellers from 14 “safe countries,” including Korea, amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 27-member bloc decided to allow leisure trips from Wednesday (local time) as it struggles to revive economic activity while fending off new waves of the disease.

The 13 others are Algeria, Australia, Canada, Japan, Georgia, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.

Visitors from China, where the new coronavirus first emerged late last year, will be allowed on the condition that Beijing allows in EU visitors.

The United States, where more than 2.7 million people were reported to have been infected, was excluded from the list.

But with the virus still raging in much of the world, it is unclear whether the EU decision will excite many Koreans. government rules require overseas travellers to quarantine themselves for 14 days on arrival, unless their travel is “essential.”


Category: Korea

Print This Post

Comments are closed.