Five mayors sworn in at People’s Association HQ

25-Sep-2020 Intellasia | Yahoo News Singapore | 6:02 AM Print This Post

Five mayors were on Wednesday (23 September) sworn in at the People’s Association Headquarters (PAHQ) after a ceremony presided by PA chair prime minister Lee Hsien Loong.

Low Yen Ling who is also the Chair of the Mayors’ Committee Denise Phua and Desmond Choo were re-appointed as Mayors of South West, Central Singapore and North East districts, respectively.

Alex Yam and newly elected Member of Parliament Fahmi Aliman succeed Dr Teo Ho Pin and Dr Maliki Osman as Mayors of North West and South East districts, respectively.

The term of Office of the Mayors starts from 27 July to 26 July 2023.

About 400 guests were invited to the ceremony virtually a first for the event, said the PA and Community Development Council (CDC) in a joint press release.

In a post on his Facebook page, Lee said Singapore’s mayors are chairpersons of the CDCs for the five respective districts.

“The CDCs play an important role in our social support system. They not only carry out government programmes, but also serve as eyes and ears on the ground. They connect with communities, and identify emerging needs and gaps in social support,” added Lee, who congratulated the mayors on their appointments.


Category: Singapore

Print This Post