Inamori Foundation Doubles Monetary Awards Bestowed with its Annual Kyoto Prizes

16-Apr-2018 Intellasia | BusinessWire | 6:00 PM Print This Post

Japan’s highest private award for global achievement increases
from 50 million yen to 100 million yen (about US$930,000) in three
annual categories

KYOTO, Japan–(BUSINESS WIRE)–The Inamori Foundation has announced that it will double the monetary
awards that accompany its annual Kyoto
, to nearly one million dollars at current exchange rates, in
each of the prize’s three annual categories. The increased monetary
awards — rising from a current 50 million yen to 100 million yen apiece
— will be presented for the first time with the 34th annual
Kyoto Prizes on Nov. 10, 2018 in Kyoto, Japan.

The Kyoto Prize is presented each year in three categories: Advanced
Technology, Basic Sciences, and Arts and Philosophy. Within each
category are four annually rotating fields from which Kyoto Prize
laureates are selected. As a result, the Kyoto Prizes recognize
achievements within 12 separate fields of endeavor.

Advanced Technology fields include:

  • Electronics
  • Information science
  • Materials science and engineering
  • Biotechnology and medical technology

Basic Sciences fields include:

  • Biological sciences (evolution, behavior, ecology, environment)
  • Life sciences (molecular biology, cell biology, neurobiology)
  • Earth and planetary sciences, astronomy and astrophysics
  • Mathematical sciences

Arts and Philosophy fields include:

  • Music
  • Thought and ethics
  • Theater and cinema
  • Arts (painting, sculpture, craft, architecture, photography and design)

In announcing the change, foundation president Dr. Kazuo Inamori cited
the traditional Japanese concept of rita, or altruism, as the
virtue he wanted to see embodied in the form of an international award
when he created the Kyoto Prize in 1984.

“It is my sincere hope, modest though it may be, that the light of the
Kyoto Prize, born in Japan’s ancient capital, Kyoto, a place endowed
with a rich intellectual and cultural legacy, will play a role in
inspiring courage in humankind and offering hope for generations to
come,” Inamori stated. Click
1 to read the full announcement.

The Kyoto
is Japan’s highest private award for global achievement,
consisting of academic honors, a 20-karat gold medal, and a cash gift.
Since 1985, it has been presented to 106 laureates — 105 individuals and
one group (the Nobel Foundation) — collectively representing 17 nations.
Individual laureates range from scientists, engineers and researchers to
philosophers, painters, architects, sculptors, musicians and film
directors. The United States has produced the most recipients (43),
followed by Japan (21), the United Kingdom (12) and France (8). Click
2 for full list of Kyoto Prize laureates.

1 Full announcement:
Full list of laureates:


Inamori Foundation
Jay Scovie, North American Liaison
[email protected]


Category: BusinessWire, PRAsia

Print This Post

Comments are closed.