Professor Tadamitsu Kishimoto of Osaka University Wins Medicine Category of King Faisal International Prize 2017

11-Jan-2017 Intellasia | BusinessWire | 4:09 PM Print This Post

OSAKA, Japan–(BUSINESS WIRE)–Emeritus Professor Tadamitsu Kishimoto of Immunology Frontier
Research Center at Osaka University in Japan has won the Medicine
of the King
Faisal International Prize (KFIP) 2017
for his prominent role in
developing a novel biological treatment for autoimmune diseases.

King Faisal Foundation
that awards the KFIP is an international
philanthropic organization based in Saudi Arabia since 1976 with the
mission of preserving and perpetuating the legacy of King Faisal bin
Abdulaziz Al Saud.

Meanwhile, the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques King Salman bin
Abdulaziz Al Saud, King of Saudi Arabia
, won the Service to Islam
for his unfaltering commitment to serving the Two Holy
Mosques of Makkah and Madina. Professor Ridwan Al-Sayyid of the
Lebanese University in Beirut bagged the distinction in the Islamic
Studies category
for his research publications in the field of
Islamic jurisprudential and political heritage.

The Arabic Language Academy of Jordan was unanimously declared
the winner in the Arabic Language and Literature category for its
distinguished efforts in the transfer of science and technology
knowledge through translation into Arabic. The co-winners of the Science
were Professor Daniel Loss of the Department of
Physics at the University of Basel in Switzerland and Professor
Laurens Molenkamp
, Head of the MBE Unit at the University of
Würzburg in Germany, for their pioneering work in the experimental field
of spintronics.

Awarded annually, KFIP recognizes the outstanding efforts of individuals
and institutions across five categories. In a gripping run-down to the
finale, selection committee members from all over the world met in
Riyadh from January 8 to 10 to select the winners for 2017.

KFIP aims to inspire Muslims to participate in all aspects of
civilization, enrich human knowledge and develop mankind. Winners are
selected purely on merit, with their works meticulously examined by
specialized selection committees for each category. The strict
evaluation procedure meets international standards, and many of the
laureates have gone on to receive prestigious recognitions including the
Nobel Prize.

*Source: ME


APCO Worldwide
Elizabeth Sen, +971-55-954-8673
Managing Director
[email protected]


Category: BusinessWire, PRAsia

Print This Post

Comments are closed.