Taiwan lists 6 Southern African countries as high-risk due to new mutant COVID strain

27-Nov-2021 Intellasia | Taiwan News | 5:02 AM Print This Post

The Central Epidemic Command centre (CECC) has placed six countries in Southern Africa on its high-risk list due to the appearance of a new, heavily mutated variant of COVID that has surfaced in South Africa.

During a press conference on Friday (November 26), Health minister and CECC head Chen Shih-chung announced that due to a rise in the COVID variant B.1.1.529 in Southern Africa, six countries in the region will be deemed high-risk starting November 29. Chen said that visitors from the listed countries must undergo quarantine in a quarantine centre, and they will not be eligible for the shortened hotel quarantine during the Lunar New Year.

The B.1.1.529 variant, which was first detected in Botswana, has 32 mutations in the spike protein. Thus far, 77 cases have been confirmed in South Africa’s Gauteng Province, four in Botswana, and one in Hong Kong, from a traveler who arrived from South Africa, reported the BBC.

As the World Health Organization (WHO) has been assigning a Greek letter to each new COVID variant and because the next letter available is Nu, it is expected the new strain will be named Nu.

Chen emphasized that travellers from these high-risk countries will not be eligible for the ’10 plus 4″ and “7 plus 7″ shortened hotel quarantine schemes during the Lunar New Year. If an aircrew member has traveled to one of these six countries, they must undergo 14 full days of quarantine and cooperate with testing and carefully carry out self-health monitoring.



Category: Taiwan

Print This Post

Comments are closed.